Hot cross bummed – a Christian responds

April 20, 2012 § 10 Comments

When I first heard that fellow Christians were protesting about halaal stickers on Woolworths’ hot cross buns, I have to say, I nearly fell off my office chair laughing. Then my jaw dropped as I read the objections – the sheer stupidity and blatant intolerance left me reeling.

I don’t usually advertise my faith in public forums, because frankly, it’s no-one else’s business. And I’m never going to be the kind of Christian who belongs to the Holy Rolling Bible Punching Worldwide Seventh Day Jehovah’s Witness Church of the Latter Day Christian Scientists of the order of Transcarpathia, and beat you over the head with either a Bible or my faith. In the parlance of the day, that’s just not how I roll.

But most of the commentary on the debacle has been either by people of other faiths, or those of no faith at all. I said very little except to remark on Twitter that fundamentalist Christians were their own worst enemies, a view I still hold with regard to fundamentalism of any kind, and within any faith.

So here’s a response from one Christian. I don’t claim to speak for any others, so please don’t take my views out on your perfectly decent Christian friends.

I address my response to the others – the intolerant, petty, small-minded ones who are making a mountain out of a tiny lump of dough. Stop being such blithering idiots. If this is how you interpret standing up for your faith, I think you’d better go and read your Bible again, because you’re missing the point.

The entire thing is made even more stupid because, like most other symbols associated with Christian festivals – Easter eggs, Christmas trees and Yule logs – hot cross buns have pagan origins. Some simple research will tell you that buns marked with a cross were probably first eaten by the Saxons in honour of the goddess Eostre (most likely the origin of the name ‘Easter’, and the cross is thought either to have symobolised the four quarters of the moon or the four seasons (thank you Wikipedia).

So the irony of it all, dear fundamentalists, is that you are vociferously defending a pagan symbol against a faith that has far more in common with Christianity than you realise, sold by a secular store (that really shouldn’t have caved, in my estimation).

And when you carefully select your buns next year from the pile not bearing halaal stickers, will it really make any difference? What if they’re secretly halaal and Woolworths just doesn’t tell you? Why doesn’t the pagan symbolism bother you as much as the halaal sticker?

If you’re still not convinced, here’s a better question, one you love to ask: What would Jesus do?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Hot cross bummed – a Christian responds

  • charliesbird says:

    And what about the Halaal tuna and other stuff they eat? Secretly making them moslem?

    Like

    • It’s entirely possible, given the reach of the Muslim conspiracy. (Please read in sarcastic font.)

      Like

    • Bernard says:

      I agree to a certain degree with Mandy, but has she done her homework on what the Halaal sign represents? Then she may not have so openly been hard against the fundamentalists. It is very much due to Fundamentalists that there is such a thing as Christianity still on the earth today. We all have a part to play, and so do they. As far as I understand, the Halaal sign means that one of their clergy has prayed over the food, and that it now has the Muslim blessing on it, which in the spiritual real has much significance. Spiritually speaking[ not naturally], if we pray for God’s blessing on whatever we eat, then the Halaal sign/prayers mean nothing. The problem is that many Christians eat Hotcross buns without a thought to praying for God’s blessing.

      We need to really be doing our homework properly before slamming others. And this is not getting at Mandy, she has valid points and I do support her in what she says, I just added to her comments. And I must say, I really enjoy her raising the Question about the validity of the Hotcross bun being Christian at all, and the other subjects mentioned. I stand with u one hundred percent Mandy.

      Like

      • Thanks for your comments, Bernard. My beef with fundamentalism is when it’s linked with intolerance. Just for your interest, all the halaal sticker means is that the food complies with Islam’s dietary laws. So putting a halaal sticker on food just tells the Muslim customer at a glance that it’s okay to eat. By the same token, you could put halaal stickers on fruit and vegetables. There’s no praying over the food by anyone. And my contention with fundamentalists is that Christianity exists despite them, not because of them. A lot of atrocities have been committed by various brands of what we would call fundamentalist Christians over the years.

        Like

  • I loved Father Chris Townsend (Southern African Catholic Bishops’ Conference) responding: “There are a lot more weighty issues to deal with in SA than a few ‘hot cross Christians’,”

    Like

    • I also thought that was rather wonderful!

      Like

    • Bernard says:

      Yes, but it is the Little foxes that destroy the Vineyard. So put that in your cap, Father Chris Townsend. For instance, allowing yourself to be called Father, when the Bible is straight out against that. That is a far bigger issue, being obedient to God’s Word, or not so??

      Like

  • Simamile says:

    Reminds me of a Christian caller to SAFM I heard last year complaining that food producing companies pay the Halaal Authority money to place their sign on their products. This caller wanted to know how much this affects the price of our food and said that it’s unfair for Christians to pay for funding Islam.

    Prejudice always amazes me. Christianity is based on love, and when we hate Islam or anything related to it, what does that say about us?

    And really, don’t we have better things to do than whine?

    Like

    • Bernard says:

      I think you need to start reading your Bible Simamile. Christianity is not based on this type of love you are talking about, and I wonder if you are even quoting that person correctly, if You do not even have the right concept of the Love that Christianity is based on. Did the Person say they hate Islam by any chance, or are they just standing up for what is right? Why should anyone have to pay more for something because of someone beliefs?

      Like

      • Well, Bernard, John 3:16 does tell us that “God so loved the world”, not that he loved everyone in the world except Muslims. If that doesn’t put love at the core of Christianity, then I don’t know what does.

        Like

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hot cross bummed – a Christian responds at mandycollinswriter.

meta

