Back to school

January 16, 2013 § 1 Comment

I’ve just come from a little pity party on Twitter – one I participated in willingly. Today, you see, was the first day back at school for my children, and my elder daughter’s first day in high school.

I have an ambivalent attitude towards my children being at school. As someone who works from home, and enjoys her own company, when my kids are at school I have the freedom to do whatever I want with my time, without interruptions, and without someone yelling “Mom!” whenever they need something. I revel in the silence, and do impromptu hops, skips and jumps down the passage, with only my bemused dogs as an audience, just because I can.

On the other hand, I have worse separation anxiety than my children do, and when I know they’re heading into unknown waters – HIGH SCHOOL – I want to be there to hold their hands while they settle in. I want them to yell “Mom!” if they need help with something.

That’s ridiculous, of course. If I was there I would only do what Oprah calls the ugly cry. Knowing that the ugly cry was likely, I’d also be there without make-up – can you imagine the mass psychological trauma I’d inflict? I couldn’t afford to pay for all those people’s therapy. And I am aware, of course, that there are some things they have to learn to do alone. Or so I’m told – can you say ‘helicopter parent’?

And so, not because I’m a coward or anything (pfffft), I did what I always do – I stayed home. I confess I didn’t even drop my girls on their first day in Grade 1. My husband takes them to school every morning, so why should the first day be any different? Huh? Huh? And it’s not like I stay home and cry or anything (pfffft again). I just have things to do. Like work.

Has anyone seen my tissues?

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Back to school

  • Tania says:

    Ah, hugs chick. We all do what we have to to survive parenthood, and you are home and probably see your kids a lot more than most other Mothers do, you lucky gal. ‘Passes the tissues’

    Like

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back to school at mandycollinswriter.

meta

