In defence of Afrikaans

February 6, 2013 § 5 Comments

Afrikaans-bashing is a popular sport in South Africa – and understandably so, given that it’s seen as the language of apartheid, and by extension, the language of oppression.

But I’d like to say a word on its behalf, at the risk of attracting a hailstorm of retribution, because it always amuses me when people portray it as a dying language. Parents actively discourage their children from taking it as a subject as school, for example – I’ve heard them say: “What use will learning Afrikaans be in the future?” I’d argue it could be very useful, actually.

In South Africa, when it comes to mother-tongue speakers, Afrikaans is spoken by 13.5% of the population. First is isiZulu at 22.7%, and isiXhosa comes in second at 16%. More people speak Afrikaans as a mother tongue than English – a mere 9.6%. These are stats compiled after the 2011 census (Source: http://bit.ly/Jcyck), which are the most recent figures available, and suggest to me that Afrikaans is very much alive and well.

What people fail to take into account is the millions of non-white mother-tongue speakers of Afrikaans – it’s not just the language of white supremacists. And I doubt any of those non-white speakers would thank you for telling them that their language is either dying, or that they are ‘the oppressor’ by association.

I understand the revulsion for Afrikaans, given South Africa’s history, honestly I do. Those associations are very strong. But it saddens me, because the language itself is so delightfully earthy and expressive, not to mention blunt – Afrikaans always says what it means. Often it’s the epitome of plain language, something I am in favour of in all situations.

When I was in matric, we were encouraged to turn to the Afrikaans version of our Science exam papers (the paper was in Afrikaans on the reverse side) if we couldn’t remember what terms like ‘miscible’ meant. Mengbaar, literally ‘able to be mixed’, was much easier to understand.

And while Afrikaans has borrowed from local and European languages like French and German, it is still a relatively young language, and isn’t the hodge-podge of languages that English is, for example. This means a much more consistent grammar than English has, and a pretty easy spelling system – if you can pronounce an Afrikaans word, you can probably spell it. It’s also a huge help if you want to learn another Germanic language, and if you understand and read Afrikaans, you’ll find countries like the Netherlands, Germany, Austria and Denmark much easier to navigate.

But there are also some magnificent Afrikaans words that I just love – pantoffel (slipper) and knoffel (garlic) just for the sound of them. A rollercoaster is a tuimeltreintjie (a tumbling train) or a wipwaentjie (a seesaw wagon) and I came across a delightful word on Twitter the other day courtesy of Michele Kapilevich (@Mieshue) – apparently the Afrikaans word for a toyboy is a katelknaap. Directly translated that means ‘bedstead boy’ – isn’t that wonderful?

My favourite Afrikaans expression is Ek vat nie kak van kaboutertjies nie (I don’t take shit from little gnomes). Somehow the Afrikaans has a better ring to it, and as a mother, I find this a most useful expression some days.

I have two kids – one has chosen Afrikaans as her second language at school, and the other isiZulu. That makes me happy – both of them will be able to communicate with a large number of South Africans if they work hard at becoming fluent in those languages. I am about 95% Afrikaans in heritage (although my mother tongue is English) and I studied Afrikaans and isiXhosa for matric, and majored in African Languages at university, and I loved every minute of it. Sadly I am no longer fluent in either language as I used to be, but I get along, and I have fun inflicting my poor proficiency of both those languages on mother-tongue speakers of both, and they are always grateful that I’m making the effort.

I love language – all language – and I just cannot bring myself to discount the richness of a language because of the associations with it, or proclaim its imminent death despite solid evidence to the contrary. So many languages are dying, partly thanks to globalisation and the pre-eminence of English, certainly in the western world, and I hate the thought of that – we need to fight to preserve all of our indigenous languages and make every effort to bolster and promote them at every turn.

And that includes Afrikaans.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to In defence of Afrikaans

  • charliesbird says:

    I am another Afrikaans fan, and echo your sentiments. In a city where we have a reasonable sized population of Afrikaans speakers, I am the ONLY OBGYN who is able to speak Afrikaans; an interesting aside… Any langage that has such a cool word for candy floss (spookasem – ghost breath) will always have my attention!

    Like

  • Sharon Rodger says:

    Ek is ook mal oor Afrikaans!

    Like

  • Tania says:

    When our son started Gr R last year we (as mother-tongue Afrikaans speakers) had to decide whether we were going to have our completely bilingual kids schooled in Afrikaans or English.
    It was a tough choice for us, but we went with Afrikaans in the end for non-emotional reasons. We are really glad we did as Afrikaans is our home language and we almost forgot to be proud of it.
    Thank you for standing up for Afrikaans 🙂

    Like

What’s this?

You are currently reading In defence of Afrikaans at mandycollinswriter.

meta

