Happy talking

November 6, 2013 § 6 Comments

“I hope you wake up with a smile on your face and a song in your heart!”

That’s what I say to my kids sometimes as I tuck them into bed. And given that one of them is 11 and the other 14, I am usually met with epic eye-rolling, which is, of course, why I do it.

But that was me this morning. I bounded out of bed with the stupidest, widest grin on my face, and my head filled with words and rhythms and chords and beats and melodies and harmonies and joy. Pure joy.

Why? Because last night – as I do most Tuesday nights now – I spent a couple of hours singing songs with my guitarist friend, Joe. And we were singing songs that I had written, and they sounded awesome. And that made me happy – happy enough to still be bouncing off the wall more than twelve hours later. It’s ridiculous, and it’s wonderful and I can’t stop grinning. Writing and singing my own songs makes me insufferably, insanely, incredibly happy.

And I’ve noticed there’s a pattern – this happens every Wednesday after the Tuesday night before. I wake up ready to conquer the world. And I grin and beam and smile and sing and drive everyone around me nuts with my exuberance.

But I will not apologise. I have found my happy place.

And all I want to say today, is that you need to find yours. Because this is the best feeling in the world.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Happy talking

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy talking at mandycollinswriter.

meta

