Have some fun… first

December 18, 2013 § 7 Comments

I love the festive season, but it wears me out. Mostly, this is self-inflicted – I have extra people in the house, which means extra mouths to feed, increased housework, and then there’s the seasonal cooking I do (by choice) – fruitcakes, shortbread, ginger biscuits, a chocolate Yule log, and with any luck, a gingerbread house… And that’s just for starters. We won’t even talk about Christmas Day.

When I woke up this morning I was feeling stressed and overwhelmed and overwrought, and frankly, fairly panicked. It’s a week till Christmas, and I don’t feel prepared. I have a to-do list as long as my arm, and it seems to get longer every day.

And so, I decided to bake some gingerbread.

Why?

Because I wanted to. Because some of my Twitter friends asked me to and hinted they’d happily come over and taste it for me, being sacrificial types… *cough*

But mostly, because I wanted to. I love baking, and it was the one thing I did today that I did purely because I wanted to. It was the work of moments – I simply stirred the ingredients together with a wooden spoon, and the oven did all the hard work. And yet that small, selfish act had an enormous impact. It gave me the impetus I needed to do all the “have-tos” I had to get through today. Because I did it first, before the long list of chores.

There’s a lesson in that. I don’t think you need me to tell you what it is.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Have some fun… first

  • Dave says:

    Have. More. Fun.
    My lesson for today!

    Like

  • Susan Reynard says:

    You have put my thoughts into words…except for the baking part. I love Christmas and get really excited in anticipation of our little family being all together, but also have a to-do list that seems so long, left too late or simply a kind of “wish list” of the kind of hostess I want to be in an absolutely perfect world. While baking may not be my thing, I’m going to start each day doing one thing just because I want to, and then get on with all the must-do items on the list. Thank you for the reminder!

    Like

  • Chantal Shaw says:

    Oh good for you! I am tearing around like a tick in a fit today! Have not done a single thing I feel like doing and it is 4.00pm! I am going to take a leaf out of your book!

    Like

  • Sophie Milan says:

    Well I admire you for keeping up with the “to-do” things. At times i can’t help but get stuck. 😀

    Like

  • charliesbird says:

    I am also feeling rather stressed about the festives, but once I decided that some of the home made gifts weren’t going to happen, and I didn’t need to meet my ridiculous deadlines, I was just fine! My friends and family will still have a wonderful day, only I will know it’s not quite how I intended it to be!

    Like

  • judithr says:

    I love the festivities at Christmas, and despite all the work people put into it, it can still be one of the most fun times of the year. As a way of celebrating my first Christmas on WordPress, I’m posting some Christmas posts – please check them out! 🙂

    Like

What’s this?

You are currently reading Have some fun… first at mandycollinswriter.

meta

