The best of friends

April 30, 2014 § 3 Comments

I have a lot of friends. I count myself blessed to have them, and came across a word the other day that sums them up perfectly – they’re my framily.

But the best friends are the ones who aren’t any work at all. Some of them I’ve known for years and hardly see, while others I’ve only recently made and talk to quite often. It’s not about how long I’ve known them, it’s about the way I feel around them.

But right now, I’m at my friend, Nina’s, lovely beach house. She’s not – when we arrived, she’d left to drop other friends off at the airport, and her kids were here to welcome us. But I am so comfortable around her and her family – whom I’ve not seen for almost a year – that I’ve made myself some tea, popped the bottle of bubbly I brought with me into the fridge, and plopped down on my bed to gaze at the view.

In an hour or so, she’ll arrive, the kettle will go on, and we’ll simply pick up where we left off. No mess, no fuss, no awkward social protocols.

Later I’ll perch on the kitchen counter while she cooks, or I’ll peel the veggies for her; we might even dance badly around the kitchen to embarrass the kids. I’ll make us tea, or she will. We’ll talk and laugh and gently scold our kids together and drink far too much sparkling wine. And in the morning I’ll probably drink coffee with her and her husband on the verandah in my Hello Kitty pyjamas, without an ounce of self-consciousness.

Because that’s the kind of friend she is. And that kind is the very best kind of all.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to The best of friends

What’s this?

You are currently reading The best of friends at mandycollinswriter.

meta

