Lowering the bar

October 16, 2014 § 10 Comments

Since I decided on 9 January 2013 that Wednesday was blogging day, I’ve not missed a week on purpose. There are one or two weeks where I’ve forgotten it was Wednesday (this happens a lot in middle age) and had to frantically write something at 11.30pm, or catch up the following day, but those have been few and far between. Even when Christmas, New Year and my birthday all fell on a Wednesday – I blogged regardless. Until last night.

Last night I needed a good cry and a good sleep. So that’s what I gave myself. I’m tired of relentlessly driving myself to live up to what sometimes feel like impossibly high expectations of what I should or shouldn’t be doing – and most of those expectations I’ve generated for myself, if I’m honest.

Writing a weekly blog was a challenge I set myself. Challenges are good, and it’s how we push ourselves to achieve more. It feels good to have been as consistent and reliable as I have been, and I’m proud of how many half-decent blogs I’ve managed to turn out despite regularly looking at the blank WordPress page and wondering how the hell I was going to produce something coherent. Without once punting a product or running a competition I’ve built up a decent following, and I thank you for that, if you are one of the people who regularly reads the ramblings of my addled mind.

But in the end, it’s just a blog, not life or death. I’m sure – I hope – none of you has decided that I’m a terrible human being because Wednesday is blogging day and today is Thursday. Life happens. Shit happens. Sometimes a person’s got to do what a person’s got to do.

So last night I needed a good cry and a good sleep. I had both, I feel better and believe it or not, the world continues to turn. This may not be the best blog post you’ve ever received from me, but if it helps just one person to stop beating themselves up, or driving themselves into an early grave, then it will have served a purpose.

See you next Wednesday.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Lowering the bar

  • Yay. Good for you. Hope the rest of the week improves for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  • One of the most important things some of us have to learn is that “giving up” on a self imposed burden is the most important challenge of them all.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Di Brown says:

    Sometimes crying is a lovely cleansing experience. Often, once the tears have dried, the heaving breaths have calmed and the snot is no longer all over your face, you can finally sleep well and wake up renewed.
    I hope this was the case for you!

    Like

  • Caryn Gootkin says:

    You’re a superstar!

    Like

  • martine says:

    Love your blog- anyday of the week!

    Like

  • davepp says:

    I think your title is wrong! I believe you raised the bar, by doing what was right for you. Rigidity is very brittle, flexibility is more rounded, more whole. Hope you are feeling better today, love reading your stuff, any day of the week.

    Liked by 1 person

  • James Lyons says:

    This is one of my favorite blogs you have written. Happiness and ultimate success comes from doing things for you first. It sounds like the best thing for you this week was Thursday. Ah … no worries.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Elle Knowles says:

    And if it happens to be Thursday or even Friday, I’ll see you then. 😉 I quit beating myself up over a schedule a long time ago. You’re right – Life happens!

    Liked by 1 person

  • No bar was lowered here! You write from the heart, and yes, a blog is just a blog but the commitment you made to yourself is important.

    I committed to writing five days a week. There are many days I stare at the blank screen and think, “I’m letting myself and my followers down…there is not a coherent thought in my head!”

    A little trick I have learned is jotting down topics – giving them a tiny start, and saving them as drafts. When I am digging for content, I look back at them and 9 times out of 10 I find inspiration there!

    Liked by 1 person

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lowering the bar at mandycollinswriter.

meta

