Resolution

December 17, 2014 § 11 Comments

I’ve made a decision. Slowly but surely over the next couple of months, I’m going to work through my house, space by space and get rid of everything that doesn’t bring me joy.

There will be some exceptions of course – getting rid of joyless items like my tax records might be frowned upon… But you know what I mean.

There are things I’ve hung onto for all kinds of reasons – and they’re all the wrong reasons. They are things I never use, things I will never use. Things that just gather dust and occupy space and cause clutter I really don’t want anymore.

There’s a big part of me that would love to live a simpler life, and I had always tacked that idea onto living in the country. I had it all mapped out in my head – a small cottage in the Karoo, with whitewashed walls, a wide stoep and a tin roof for the rain to dance across. A rug or two on the floor, a comfortable bed and a fireplace to warm my wintry bones.

But I realise I don’t need to go anywhere else to have that. I don’t have to move. I can do it right here in the city, and I can live any way I choose. I don’t have to buy into the hustle of being busier than everyone else, of constantly buying, acquiring, collecting. I don’t have to prove anything; live up to anyone else’s expectations.

No. Only I choose my lifestyle. I choose my life. And for the year ahead, I choose joy.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to Resolution

  • Boatbird says:

    The simple life works for me and am all in favour of joy.

    Liked by 1 person

  • MRJones says:

    I need to go through my house too. You gave me inspiration. As always love this blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Dave says:

    I have a comfy bed, a comfy arm chair and two bookshelves crammed full of books. Simple.

    Liked by 2 people

  • Huge Kudos to you!! I am striving for that very same direction in life…though the closet full of corporate trappings is still there, I’m finding I think of going back less and less. I believe the road I am on will someday allow me to don those Chanel suits when they feel like the new me, not the old me…

    Liked by 1 person

  • Dave Pughe-Parry says:

    This is a great inspiration for the coming year.

    This clutter is sometimes referred to as baggage. One of the meanings of baggage refers to “military equipment,” the stores, and kitchens, etc that tailed around marching armies.

    Of course the army could only move as fast as the baggage. Schlepping around the clutter we have not dealt with, or resolved properly, is not for me in 2015.

    Thanks Mandy

    Liked by 1 person

  • Marie Keates says:

    After clearing my father in law’s house I felt the same way. I don’t want my children to have to spend months clearing my junk when I’m gone. It’s going to take some time to clear it myself though.

    Like

  • Eileen says:

    I semi-retired this year. 2015 will be the year of de-cluttering my home too, ridding it of decades of ‘work-from-home’ papers. We have already moved about 100 stock boxes of accounting papers out to a garage ready to sort, ship and/or archive. My heart already feels so much lighter!
    Now to start in the house. Not room by room but literally drawer by drawer!

    Like

  • Di Brown says:

    A very good decision. Bonus is your junk will become someone else’s treasure. Reuse, recycle, repair or rehome it! Have fun, it’s very therapeutic. Says me who can’t move in my office as it has most of my mom’s house stacked up, floor to ceiling.

    Like

What’s this?

You are currently reading Resolution at mandycollinswriter.

meta

