New beginnings

December 31, 2014 § 5 Comments

I find myself in a curious place at the end of 2014: it’s been a year of wonderful highs and terrible lows, a year of elation and heartache, of carefree fun and raw, unbridled pain. My future feels more uncertain than it ever has, and yet, I’m at peace.

I think I feel this way because 2014 was a year in which I came back to myself. I remembered who I am, I grew a backbone, and I found my voice in ways both literal and metaphorical. And that journey has not been without its repercussions.

So I face 2015 with some trepidation, but at the same time I know that eventually I’ll be okay. When I get to the other end of this tunnel, if I just keep going I will eventually lift my face to the sun and smile at the warmth on my cheeks, my nose, my brow.

How do I know that? Well, I’ve discovered amazing reserves of strength, resilience, creativity and adaptability within myself. And I have my family and a vast tribe of truly astonishing friends who have loved, supported, encouraged and laughed with me, and held me tight when sorrow threatened to overwhelm.

I might not have the world’s most impressive balance sheet, but I am rich beyond measure, and privileged beyond belief.

So this is my wish for you in 2015:

A year in which you learn to live in the present, in the moment, because ultimately, that’s all we have.

A year in which you find your tribe – even if it’s just one or two people.

A year in which you learn to see the extraordinary in the ordinary, the abundant beauty in the everyday.

A year in which you find joy, fulfilment, contentment and peace.

A year in which you can be truly, authentically yourself in every situation.

A year in which you feel loved and heard and seen.

Happy New Year, friends. Here’s to new beginnings.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to New beginnings

What’s this?

You are currently reading New beginnings at mandycollinswriter.

meta

