Kintsukuroi

March 27, 2015 § 8 Comments

I am broken open
Shards litter, splinters glitter
Nothing is me anymore.

Everything is me from before.

Do not sweep me up
Or step over my pieces –
Look at me.

Look.
At.
Me.

And hold back your broom.

For I will pick myself up.
I will gather my pieces with love and anger
From the fire that burns in me
And I will rise.

I.
Will.
Rise.

There is gold in my veins
Gold that has settled into the million tiny cuts
Of a million tiny words
That almost bled me dry.

Gold.

And if you would love me;
If you would be the one to walk alongside me
As that gold is beaten till it gleams,
Be equal to the task.

I am done with less than, with second-best, with good enough.
I am done with eggshells and backbends and silence.
I am enough.
I am complete.
I am perfectly and wonderfully made.

And I will rise.

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 8 Responses to Kintsukuroi

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kintsukuroi at mandycollinswriter.

meta

