Meeting the queen

April 8, 2015 § 9 Comments

I’ll be honest – I looked at the topic for this week’s blog with Dave Luis, Nick Frost and Brett Fish Anderson, and I despaired. It was 9.37pm when I typed the headline for this post and I had no clue what to write. I was utterly exhausted, and ready to throw in the towel for this week.

But I decided I’d write a little rhyme and see where it went instead. I’ve always been able to spew them out, which used to mean I was assured of a job at Hallmark if journalism didn’t work out.

I thought it would be a children’s story, but it turned out slightly differently. I don’t regard it as poetry, and I’m not even sure it qualifies as writing. But here it is.

Meeting the queen

If I were ever to meet the queen

I’d wear a dress in velvet green

I’d wash my face and do my hair

And take a gift of a golden pear

 

If should meet the queen for tea

I’d place a napkin on my knee

My pinky raised, I’d sip and sup

And toast her royally with my cup

 

If I were ever to meet her, yes

Resplendent in my velvet dress

I’d curtsy first, then raise my eyes

And ask her if she ever cries

 

I’d ask her if she ever wished

To climb a tree or catch a fish

To whirl around till she was dizzy

To have a day that wasn’t busy

 

If I were ever to shake her hand

I’d tell her that I understand

That truths can alter when they’re told

That all that glitters isn’t gold

 

If I were ever to meet the queen

And wear my dress of velvet green

I’d take a peep behind the screen

And hope to glimpse the human being

 

This post is one of four on the same topic, a tandem blogging topic where we all write about the same thing without seeing each other’s work. Click on my fellow writers’ names above to see what they wrote.

Tagged: , ,

§ 9 Responses to Meeting the queen

What’s this?

You are currently reading Meeting the queen at mandycollinswriter.

meta

