Could you just

July 15, 2015 § 4 Comments

Could you just cover me with a blanket and make me some tea,

Treat me like a small child who’s slipped and grazed her knee?

Could you kiss my brow and hold my hand, and tell me that you understand?

Could you hold me tight; say it’ll be alright?

Could you just?

Could you just make it stop?

Just for a day so I can catch my breath, catch my thoughts, catch my dreams again.

Hold them up to the light

And remember why I started this fight.

Could you just?

Could you just be there, on my kitchen chair

With a smile, or a song, or a joke to cheer me on?

I know I’ll be fine, but could you remind me sometimes?

Could you just?

Could you sit in silence beneath inky skies

While the sorrow wells in my weary eyes?

Could you just be there when the day’s too long,

Could you just?

§ 4 Responses to Could you just

  • charliesbird says:

    It is going to be ok, Michypants is coming and she will hold your fragile soul for a little while, and it will be ok…

    Like

  • Di Brown says:

    Beautiful. Now…..
    Could you just believe that you are one of the strongest women I have never met.
    Could you just take a step back and look how far you have come.
    Could you just give yourself a pat on the back for what you have achieved in spite of everything.
    Could you just breathe, and know that even when you feel you are weak you inspire so many of us.
    To quote your own words back at you, could you just know that “you are more than enough”

    I hope you know that in the virtual world you have so many of us packed around your kitchen table, making you tea and cheering you on.

    You are amazing !

    Liked by 1 person

What’s this?

You are currently reading Could you just at mandycollinswriter.

meta

