Car wash

April 2, 2016 § 2 Comments

I don’t know when I stopped washing my car myself, but the last time I remember doing it regularly was when I first moved to Johannesburg in the early 1990s. It was mostly an economic decision, but I enjoyed the weekly routine of splashing and scrubbing and drying and buffing.

Somewhere along the way, though, I stopped. My financial circumstances  improved, and washing my car became the responsibility of my gardener or the car wash down the road.

Twenty-five years later, I find myself in a new place. I’m back to having to save money where I can, but I also find myself wanting to live more slowly, more consciously, more deliberately.

I’ve outsourced too much of my life, handed too much of it over to others to take care of. 

And really, there’s something very satisfying about jobs like washing the car. . It’s a simple, menial task, with a bit of a workout built in, and When it’s done, I’m not only proud of my gleaming car

§ 2 Responses to Car wash

What’s this?

You are currently reading Car wash at mandycollinswriter.

meta

